chakra-imgThe word chakra comes from the Sanskrit chakram, which means wheel. Chakras can actually be defined as spinning wheels or vortices of light. They are focal points of energy and are formed where energy lines crisscross in the body. Although there are numerous chakras in the body, the seven major chakras are located along the central column of the body, beginning at the base of the spine, climbing to the crown of your head.

Chakras can be seen with the naked eyes only by psychics or through an aura scan. Although the West is fast exploring this fascinating science, the knowledge and treatment of chakras has been followed in India for millennia, forming the basis of many systems of meditation, healing, yoga and self-awareness.

Each major chakra corresponds to an endocrine gland in the physical body. For example, the heart chakra is connected to the thymus gland, the throat chakra to the thyroid and so on. Made of pure energy, each chakra vibrates at a particular frequency. When our chakras get blocked or damaged, the chakra automatically grows sluggish or hyperactive, causing corresponding discomfort or dis-ease in the area of our life that corresponds to the chakra.

In a balanced chakra system, each chakra works at its optimum level, making us feel healthy and vital. A simple technique to temporarily clear the chakras is to have a dip in the sea or a salt water bath. Spending time outdoors is also recommended as it gives the chakra system and you considerable relief.

For lasting solutions though, you have to work with the chakra at a core level to cleanse and heal the source of the imbalance. While a lot of people enjoy working with crystals, gem stones and chanting mantras, unless the cause is dealt with, there is a high chance that the situation will reoccur.

Our chakra meditation program is designed to help you at every level. It takes you on a journey deep within your chakras to cleanse, heal and balance them, showing you how to use this incredible energy system as a vehicle for spiritual growth and self-realisation. You learn to resolve issues on the physical, mental and emotional level and you get to choose the pace at which you want to work with your energy.

To align your chakras and bring harmony into your life book your chakra healing session here.

Each of the chakras controls specific organs and performs specific functions in your body, directly affecting your health and wellbeing.

Basic information about each of the chakras is listed here

Muladhar or the Root Chakra:

Is located at the base of the spine. Bright red in colour, the Muladhar relates to legs, feet, lower back, bones and kidneys. An imbalance in this area causes you to feel unstable, insecure, hunger, to gain weight, constipation, arthritis, spinal tension and knee problems.




Swadhistan or the Sacral Chakra:

Is situated about two inches below the navel. Physically the Svadhistan controls the reproductive system, skin, spleen, bladder and lower intestines. This chakra is bright orange in colour. Blockages in this area result in jealousy, anger and other negative emotions, sexual problems, allergies and bladder problems.




Manipura or the Navel Ckakra:

Is located at the upper stomach, just below your rib cage. The bright yellow Manipura works to influence your mental attitude, enabling you to be good-natured, contented and happy in whatever you choose to do. This chakra controls the stomach, liver, digestion, nerves, muscles and gall bladder. Disturbances in this chakra cause fear, lack of confidence, perfectionism, diabetes, ulcers and digestive disorders.




Anahat or the Heart Chakra:

Is situated in the middle of the chest. When this emerald green chakra is in balance it brings serenity and calmness. Heart, circulation, arms, hands and blood are the dominion of the Anahata chakra. Emotionally instability, inability to show or receive affection, heart problems and high blood pressure are caused when this chakra is out of alignment.




Vishuddhi or the Throat Chakra:

Is at the bottom of the throat and is perceived as clear blue. The Vishuddi relates to throat, mouth, neck, ears, lungs and shoulders. Imbalances in this area cause communication issues, lack of discernment, thyroid, ear, neck and throat problems.





Ajna or the Third Eye Chakra:

Is in the middle of the forehead. The deeply spiritual indigo coloured Ajna chakra is linked to the Pineal Gland. It enables the individual to see, hear, write and work with Spirit Guides. Physically it relates to the left eye, nose, nervous system and lower brain. If imbalanced it causes the individual to become cynical, fearful, have little focus or concentration, develop headaches, eye problems or blindness and have vivid or unpleasant dreams.




Sahasrara or the Crown Chakra:

Is at the top of the head. The Sahasrara is linked to the Pituitary Gland that secretes hormones to other glands of the body. Violet in colour, it symbolises purity of mind and body and is the strongest link to the spirit world. It is related to the right eye and upper brain. Problems in this area cause confusion, depression, and lack of enthusiasm and inspiration, migraines, forgetfulness, senility and psychotic disorders.